Minutes of the Meeting of the West Central Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission (WCWRPC) Thursday, May 23rd, 2024; 10:00 a.m. Eau Claire Conference Room Banbury Place, Eau Claire, WI

Commissioners Present: Louie Okey, George Rohmeyer, Joe Waichulis, Steve Rasmussen, John Frank, Chuck Hull, Peter Kaz, Ryan Sicard, Diane Morehouse, Dane Zook, Patti Anderson, Joel Seidlitz, Chuck Rueth, Carl Vandermeulen, Loralee Clark, Paul Berning

Commissioners Absent: Terry Hauer, Craig Fowler, Keith Karpenski, Sharon Kelly, Dan Hansen

Staff Present: Scott Allen, Erin Whyte, Kim Zimmerman

- 1. **Call to Order -** Chair Okey called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m.
- 2. **Welcome and Introductions -** Okey welcomed the new commissioners and introductions were made around the room. Guest April Anderson of CLA was present for a presentation on the 2023 Audit. Past Commissioners Allen Krause and Gary Taxdahl were present to say farewell and receive recognition.
- 3. **Review and Approve Minutes of March 20, 2024, Commission Meeting –** A motion was made by Rasmussen to approve the minutes of the March 20, 2024, Commission Meeting, seconded by Waichulis: motion carried.
- 4. **Review and Approve Disbursements –** A motion to approve the disbursements was made by Morehouse, seconded by Kaz; motion carried.
- 5. **Resolution Recognizing Outgoing Commission Members –** A motion to approve the Resolution as amended was made by Frank, seconded by Kaz; motion carried.
- 6. Overview of Nomination and Election Process for WCWRPC Officers Chairman Okey went over the process to be used in nominating and electing WCWRPC officers, as provided in the packet. Chair Okey had appointed Steve Rasmussen, George Rohmeyer, and Ryan Sicard to the Nominating Committee. There was consensus to take a break and have the Nominating Committee meet up to discuss those that will be nominated as officers.

BREAK @ 10:15am to 10:30am, all those in attendance took a break except the Nominating Committee, who met at this time to prepare a slate of officers to come before the Commission for a vote.

- 7. **Election of WCWRPC Officers** Nominating Committee Chair Rasmussen noted that no other nominations had been submitted in advance of the meeting and presented to the Commission the slate of candidates for officer positions: John Frank for Chair; Louie Okey for Vice-Chair; and Joe Waichulis for Secretary/Treasurer. With no further nominations, on a motion by Morehouse, seconded by Seidlitz, the slate of officers was approved unanimously. New Chair John Frank assumed leadership position for the meeting at this time.
- 8. **Election of Executive Committee Members –** Chair Frank gave a briefing on the Executive Committee selection process, explaining that one member from each county will be selected as a designated representative. The selections from each county were presented, except for Polk County who did not have anyone in attendance. On a motion by Kaz, seconded by Berning, the Commission representatives to the Executive Committee are as follows: Barron County Louie Okey, Vice-Chair; Chippewa County Geroge Rohmeyer; Clark County Joe Waichulis, Secretary/Treasurer; Dunn

- County Steve Rasmussen; Eau Claire County John Frank, Chair; Polk County pending; and St. Croix County Ryan Sicard.
- 9. **WCWRPC Overview and Director's Report –** Executive Director Allen gave an overview and update on projects, budget, and staff activities including the new phone system; office renovations; and an update on the orientation for 8 new members of the Commission.
- 10. **Presentation of 2023 Audit –** April Anderson, CPA, with CliftonLarsonAllen, presented the 2023 WCWRPC Audit overview and the changes that have been made in the last year. Discussion was held to recommend consideration of a new financial policy for addressing the fund balance.
- 11. **Town of Anson Comprehensive Plan Update Agreement –** Allen gave a briefing on the background for the Anson Comprehensive Plan that has been approved by the Town and now needs to be approved by the Commission. A motion to approve was made by Okey and seconded by Moorhouse; motion carried.
- 12. **Purchase of Miovision Scout Plus by Chippewa-Eau Claire MPO –** Allen explained the needs of the system to be purchased for the MPO staff and how the data from the device will be used in allowing for intersection counts, road volume data counts, pathway counts, roundabout counts, speed data, and more. This purchase exceeds \$5,000 and needs approval from the Commission. A motion was made to approve by Clark, seconded by Rohmeyer; motion carried.
- 13. **Any Other Business Updates –** None.
- 14. **Next Commission Meeting Date -** Thursday, July 13, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. in Barron County, specific location TBD.
- 15. **Next Executive Committee Meeting Date -** Thursday, June 13, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. in Eau Claire at Banbury Place, Building 2, Room 405H
- 16. **Adjournment** @ 11:42 a.m.

Prepared by Erin Whyte